Member Communities

Rodman

West Turin

Villages of

Williamstown

Constableville Lyons Falls Port Leyden

Turin

Worth

Turin

<u>Towns of</u>
Adams
Boylston
Florence
Harrisburg
Lewis
Leyden
Lorraine
Martinsburg
Montague
Osceola
Pinckney
Redfield

Website: tughillcouncil.com



Executive Committee

ROGER TIBBETTS, Chair DOUGLAS DIETRICH, Vice Chair CARLA BAUER, Secretary IAN KLINGBAIL, Director STEPHEN BERNAT, Director ROSALIE WHITE, Director PAULETTE WALKER, Director

Contact: Angie Kimball, Circuit Rider PO Box 34, Redfield NY, 13437 Email: angie@tughill.org Cell 315-480-6857 Home 315-599-8825

Cooperative Tug Hill Council Inter-municipal Agreement - 2018

Purpose

In order to provide service and affect issues of common and individual concern to the municipalities making up the core of the Tug Hill Region, the Cooperative Tug Hill Council (CTHC) is hereby created by action of the towns of Adams, Boylston, Florence, Harrisburg, Lewis, Leyden, Lorraine, Martinsburg, Montague, Osceola, Pinckney, Redfield, Rodman, Turin, West Turin, Williamstown, and Worth; and the villages of Constableville, Lyons Falls, Port Leyden and Turin, pursuant to Article 5-G of General Municipal Law.

In keeping with the tradition of the Cooperative Tug Hill Planning Board, which was previously established by these communities in 1974, it is the intention of the Cooperative Tug Hill Council (CTHC) through cooperation and a system of regular communication with member communities, to represent these municipalities in bringing resources to bear on issues of common concern including but not limited to -- community development and planning; matters affecting the central forest, watersheds, and other natural characteristics; and local government management information needs.

Primary Objectives

- 1. To provide staff who will, through regular contact with member municipalities identify problem areas and provide requested services where possible, and who will coordinate activities designed to address all such issues.
- 2. To establish a representative forum by which issues and opportunities of common or individual concern can be affected, both through making recommendations for action, as well as through providing direct support to local government activities.
- 3. To establish a communication system by which all representatives to the CTHC report on a regular basis to their respective governing boards.
- 4. To explore all avenues of cooperation by and between member municipalities, and carry out cooperative projects when desirable and feasible.
- 5. To visualize the future from a big picture or multi-town perspective and to create opportunities through cooperation for achieving such vision.
- 6. To retain the rural character of the CTHC area through a home rule approach recognized in the Tug Hill Reserve Act. This approach would rely primarily on special area designations by each town, and a plan for the entire CTHC region.

- 7. To provide technical and project review assistance, as requested, to CTHC towns when development is proposed in designated special areas, and when projects of CTHC-region-wide significance are proposed.
- 8. To carry out project review in cooperation with affected towns when development is proposed in a special area designated under the Tug Hill Reserve Act, which is overlapping or immediately adjacent to a boundary between two or more CTHC towns, or when the project might have CTHC-region-wide impact.

Membership

Each of the member municipalities shall designate annually, at their organizational meeting, two representatives to serve on the Cooperative Tug Hill Council. Representatives from each community shall include the Chief Elected Official of the municipality and one representative appointed by the municipal board. The appointed representative may be a resident of the municipality and/or a member of the governing board of the municipality. For purpose of business of the Cooperative Tug Hill Council each municipality shall have one vote. Attendance and participation at Cooperative Tug Hill Council meetings by all interested local officers is encouraged. A quorum shall be constituted when a majority of the member municipalities are present.

Meetings

The CTHC shall meet at least twice a year, and on an annual basis shall agree on a budget, evaluate performance, establish goals and objectives, and review its bylaws and intermunicipal agreement. Other meetings may be called at the request of two or more member municipalities, or upon the initiative of the chairman, following due and proper notice given to all representatives.

Fiscal Officer

A fiscal officer of one of the member municipalities shall be designated by resolution of the CTHC as the CTHC fiscal officer. The fiscal officer shall receive all contributions from outside sources and from member municipalities, The fiscal officer shall provide an accounting of all activities to the CTHC and/or to any member municipality on request, or according to a schedule as determined by resolution of the CTHC.

Finances

The CTHC shall establish and approve an annual budget prior to October of each year. The member municipalities shall be requested to consider their share of the budget. The CTHC fiscal year shall be the calendar year. Each member municipality shall pay its annual dues within 60 days of receipt of its warrant from the CTHC.

Bylaws

The CTHC may adopt bylaws to govern the conduct of its activities. Bylaws may be adopted at any regular or special meeting of the board, and shall require a 2/3 vote of the member_municipalities.

Withdrawal

Any member municipality may withdraw from the CTHC and from the conditions of this agreement by giving written notice of withdrawal to the CTHC fiscal officer. Such withdrawal shall become effective at the end of the fiscal year for which the municipality has already contributed.

Effective Date

This agreement shall take effect on May 1, 2018 and terminate on December 31, 2022.